22 2010 »

Darkhouse Spearfishing Opens Dec. 1, Anglers Must Register

Additional opportunities highlight this winter’s darkhouse spearfishing season, as more lakes have been added to open waters. However, Patterson Reservoir (Dickinson Reservoir) in Stark County has been removed.

Carlson Lakes (Ward County), Gravel Lake (Rolette County), West Napoleon Lake (Logan County) and all waters open to public fishing in Ramsey County have been added to the list of lakes open for darkhouse spearfishing.

North Dakota’s darkhouse spearfishing season opens on most state waters Dec. 1, with the exception of Spiritwood Lake which opens Jan. 1. The season runs through March 15. Legal fish are northern pike and nongame species.

Darkhouse spearing is allowed for all residents with a valid fishing license and for residents under the age of 16. Nonresidents may darkhouse spearfish in North Dakota if they are from states that offer the same privilege for North Dakota residents.

All individuals who participate in darkhouse spearfishing must register with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department prior to participating. Registration is available at the department’s website, gf.nd.gov, or through any Game and Fish Department office.

Winter access difficulties in 2009-10 were reflected in the number of darkhouse spearfishing participants. Although the number of registrants remained relatively stable, overall harvest last winter, when nearly 700 participants speared more than 2,300 pike, was the second lowest on record. Lake Laretta (Nelson County), Devils Lake (Ramsey/Benson County) and Buffalo Lodge Lake (McHenry County) were the top three lakes for harvest.

Lakes open to darkhouse spearing are:
Barnes County – Eckelson Lake Complex
Benson County – Devils Lake, Silver Lake
Bowman County – Gascoyne Lake, Kalina Dam, Spring Lake
Burke County – Powers Lake
Emmons County – Rice Lake
Foster County – Juanita Lake
Grant County – Heart Butte Reservoir (Lake Tschida)
Griggs County – Sibley Lake
Hettinger County – Blickensderfer Dam
Kidder County – Alkaline Lake, Cherry Lake, Etta/Alkaline Complex, Fresh Lake, Helen Lake, Horsehead Lake, Lake Josephine, Lake Williams, Round Lake
LaMoure County – Diamond Lake, Flood Lake
Logan County – Beaver Lake, West Napoleon Lake 
McHenry County – Buffalo Lodge Lake
McIntosh County – Clear Lake, Coldwater Lake, Dry/Goose Lake
McLean County – Crooked Lake, Long Lake
Mountrail County – Stanley Reservoir
Nelson County – Lake Laretta, Stump Lake
Ramsey County – All waters open to public fishing
Renville County – Lake Darling
Richland County – Grass Lake
Rolette County – Carpenter Lake, Gravel Lake, Island Lake, School Section Lake
Sargent County – Buffalo Lake
Steele County – North Tobiason Lake
Sheridan County – Coal Mine Lake
Stutsman County – Mallard Marsh, Spiritwood Lake, Sunday Lake
Ward County – Carlson Lakes
Williams County – Cottonwood Lake, Tioga Reservoir
Lake Oahe – South Dakota border to MacLean Bottoms boat ramp and all tributaries upstream to the first vehicular crossing
Lake Sakakawea – Garrison Dam to U.S. Highway 85 bridge at Williston and all tributaries upstream to the first vehicular crossing.
Courtesy of North Dakota Game and Fish Department

Fishing reports Archives